GLF Schools

GLF Schools

GLF Schools was founded in 2012 in order to enable the federation of Glyn School (an academy in 2011) and Danetree Junior School. Together, we began our journey to become a MAT of more than 1000 talented staff working with over 10,000 children in 40 schools across 5 regions in southern England.

Our Schools

Banbury Region

Banstead Region

Berkshire & Hampshire Region

Caterham Region

Crawley Region

Didcot Region

Epsom Region

London Boroughs

Redhill Region

Sunbury & Camberley Region

Rights Respecting Schools

2 28 cmsAs Wheatfield Primary School is an awarded Silver Rights Aware school by UNICEF, teaching children about their rights will underpin and form some of the ethos of our school. Therefore, your child may tell you about the rights they are learning throughout the year, as we teach them through our daily school routine, fundraising days, classroom life and assemblies. At Wheatfield Primary School, we believe that we should teach for the rights, about the rights and through the rights of a child.

Children's Rights (in child friendly language)

What is the Rights Respecting Schools Award?

The Unicef UK Rights Respecting Schools Award (RRSA) supports schools across the UK to embed children’s human rights in their ethos and culture.

The award recognises achievement in putting the UN Convention on the Right of the Child (UNCRC) at the heart of a school’s practice to improve well-being and help all children realise their potential.

The award is based on principles of equality, dignity, respect, non-discrimination and participation.

The initiative started in 2006 and schools involved in the Award have reported a positive impact on relationships and well-being, leading to better learning and behaviour, improved academic standards and less bullying.

What does the Award involve?

The Right Respecting Schools Award recognises achievement in putting the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child (CRC) at the heart of a school’s planning, policies, practice and ethos. For a school to receive accreditation, it must evidence that it has reached the three RRSA Strands:

Schools involved in the Rights Respecting Schools Award work towards three levels;

  • Bronze - Rights Committed - The first stage of the Rights Respecting Schools Award (RRSA).
  • Silver - Rights Aware - The second stage of the Rights Respecting Schools Award.
  • Gold - Rights Respecting - The highest stage of the Rights Respecting Schools Award (after Bronze: Rights Committed and Silver: Rights Aware). It is granted by Unicef UK to schools that have fully embedded children’s rights throughout the school in its policies, practice and ethos, as outlined in the three RRSA Strands.